check

Beach Volleyball Rules (Part 1 of 2)

15 questions on the rules of beach volleyball.

Click the button below to start.

Start

Question 1 of 15

1) Is it legal to hand set the ball over the net?

A

No

B

Yes, if it comes out clean and the player was attempting to set their partner

C

Yes, if it comes out clean and the player’s shoulders are square to the direction of the set

D

Both b and c are correct

Question 2 of 15

2) When is receiving an attack with your fingers legal?

A

Only when you send the ball back over to the other side on the first contact

B

When the attack is hard-driven and the defensive play is a "reaction" OR the play is a clean set with no double contact or throw

C

Only if the player is setting their partner for an option attack

Question 3 of 15

3) When is it legal for a player to hand set in serve receive?

A

This is illegal

B

Only if your hands are touching

C

Only if it is windy

D

It is always legal if it comes out clean

Question 4 of 15

4) If a player is standing at the net and their opponent hits the ball into the net causing the net to touch the original player, is this considered a net violation?

A

No, when the ball is driven into the net causing it to touch the player, no fault is committed

B

Depends on the speed of the ball

C

Yes, but only if the first player is blocking

Question 5 of 15

5) If the ball comes off of your opponent’s block, can you contact the ball overhead with two closed hands, double hammer fist style?

A

No

B

Only if you are still landing from your jump

C

Yes, if it is part of one continuous motion

Question 6 of 15

6)If an attacker goes up to attack the ball but the blocker pushes or pulls the attacker’s hand onto the top of the net, what is the call?

A

Net violation on the blocker

B

Interference on the blocker

C

Net violation on the attacker

D

Interference on the attacker

Question 7 of 15

7) If I pass the ball so that it goes outside of the antenna and on the other side of the net, can my partner legally pass the ball back to our side to complete the play?

A

No

B

Only if the player jumps over the net to get to the ball

C

Yes, only if the ball crosses the net on the outside of the antenna on the way back to the original side

Question 8 of 15

8) Can the server let their toss hit the ground if they are not happy with it?

A

Yes

B

Yes, if they call it while it is in the air

C

Only for a jump serve

D

No, it counts as a missed serve

Question 9 of 15

9)Can the server land inside the court after hitting a jump serve? 

A

Yes

B

No

C

Only on a topspin serve

D

Jump serves aren’t allowed in beach volleyball

Question 10 of 15

10)If a player digs an attack or plays any first touch with their platform and the ball proceeds to hit them in the face in the same motion, what is the call?

A

Double

B

Carry

C

This is legal. ANY first touch can hit two consecutive body parts provided the play is not made with finger action

D

The play is over

Question 11 of 15

11) Does a blocking contact count as one of the three legal contacts?

A

Yes, a blocking contact is counted as a team hit

B

Yes, only if the blocking player passes the ball after the block contact

C

Yes, only if the other player passes the ball after the block contact

D

No, the team still has three contacts left

Question 12 of 15

12) Can a player pass a ball off of their own block contact?

A

No, the blocker cannot touch the ball twice

B

Yes, the first hit after the block may be executed by any player

C

Yes, only if they pass the ball back to the opposing team

Question 13 of 15

13) Can both players touch the ball at the same time?

A

Yes, but it is counted as two hits

B

No, this is illegal

C

Only if it was done inadvertently

Question 14 of 15

14) Can the ball be passed into the net during a play, then recovered?

A

Yes

B

No, the play is over

C

Yes, but only if it was unintentional

Question 15 of 15

15)  If a player shanks a ball out of bounds on their own side of the court, can their partner still play it?

A

No, the pass has to stay in the court

B

Yes, the ball may be retrieved from beyond the court in the free zone

C

Only if the pass is really high

D

Yes, only if the previous hit from the opponent was hard-driven

Confirm and Submit