check

Beach Volleyball Rules (Part 2 of 2)

Test your knowledge of the rules in 2 on 2 beach volleyball!

This quiz contains multiple choice questions regarding some of the most commonly discussed/argued rules in 2 on 2 beach volleyball. Keep in mind that we use the rules as set forth by the AVP and the FIVB.

Your local organizer might play by different rules. You should always ask them what rulebook governs your tournaments and leagues.

Some of the answers may surprise you... Let's see how much you know! 

Start

Question 1 of 28

1)  If an attacker and blocker make contact with each other under the net, can the play continue?

A

No. The play is dead and someone must be at fault.

B

Yes, if no interference occurs. Interference means that one player was prevented from being able to make their next play on the ball

C

Only if both players verbally confirm during the play that there was no interference

Question 2 of 28

2) Can a blocker contact a ball that is completely on their opponent’s side of the net?

A

Yes, if the trajectory of the ball was bringing it over the net AND/OR no one from the opposing team was close enough to make a play on the ball.

B

Only if the blocker tips the ball to their partner

C

Yes, but only if the blocker is still on the ground

D

No, this interferes with the other team’s play

Question 3 of 28

3) If a player is receiving a hard driven ball, can their contact be longer than usual?

A

Yes, in the defensive action of a hard-driven ball, the ball contact can be extended momentarily, even if overhand finger action is used

B

No, the dig has to be a regular platform pass

C

Yes, but only if the player is using their platform

Question 4 of 28

4) Can a player obstruct their opponent’s view of the ball while their partner is serving?

A

Yes

B

No, this is called an “interference”

C

No, this is called a “screen”

D

This is only allowed in the AVP

Question 5 of 28

5) Is the ball allowed to hit the tape on a serve on its way in?

A

Only on a jump serve

B

Only on a topspin serve

C

Yes, unless the serve occurs under the Freeze rule of an AVP Match at which point on there will be one re-serve.

D

No. If the ball touches a the net on a serve, it is a fault.

Question 6 of 28

6) What is the call if the server goes out of order (when it is actually their partner’s turn)?

A

Nothing, this is legal

B

The point is awarded to the receiving team because the server violated the service order. If any consecutive points were awarded to the mis-ordered serving team, those points must be removed.

C

This is only illegal in the AVP

D

This is only illegal in the FIVB

Question 7 of 28

7) Can a player use open hand finger action to redirect the ball on an attack?

A

Yes

B

No. When playing the ball with the fingers, they must be rigid and together (although, in practice referees do not abide by the "together" rule. The ball must also be played with "rebound style" contact.

C

Yes, if they verbally call out “tipping!” first

Question 8 of 28

8) Can both players from the same team block at the same time?

A

Yes, this is called a collective block

B

No, this is illegal

C

Only when you are playing with teams of 4

D

Only when you are playing with teams of 6

Question 9 of 28

9) Can you pass the ball with your foot? 

A

No, you must use your arms/hands

B

Yes, the ball may touch any part of the body during normal play with the exception of the serve.

C

Only if all players agree to the rule beforehand

Question 10 of 28

10) Is it legal to block a serve? 

A

No

B

Yes, if you do it without jumping

C

Yes, if it is a collective block

Question 11 of 28

11)  If the attacker hits the ball into the block and the ball lands out of bounds, which team gets the point?

A

Neither

B

The blocking team

C

The attacking team

D

The referee gets to decide

Question 12 of 28

12) If a shorter player attempts to block the ball but they do not reach above the net, does this still count as a block?

A

No it does not count as a block touch because to be considered blocking, some part of their body has to be above the net when the ball contacts them. However, the spirit of the rule should be used for younger or lower level players who are indeed attempting to block. This promotes the growth of skill development in the game.

B

Yes, only if it is windy

C

Yes this is a block touch

Question 13 of 28

13) If a player attempts to make a fourth contact but misses the ball, (and it lands on their opponent's side) does the attacking team get the point? 

A

No, you’re not allowed to jump after your third contact

B

No, they intended to hit the ball a fourth time which is against the rules

C

Yes! Each team is allowed three hits, and they only touched the ball three times

D

Yes, because four contacts are allowed

Question 14 of 28

14) If two faults occur during one play on either side, which one is called?

A

Whichever one happened first

B

Both

C

Neither, they cancel each other out

D

The one on the winning team’s side

Question 15 of 28

15) After a joust, the ball lands out of bounds on your opponent’s side of the court. Which team gets the point?

A

Your team, because you won the joust

B

Your opponent’s team. The ball landed out of bounds in the direction of your joust, which means that you were pushing the ball for longer than your opponent.

C

This requires a replay

Question 16 of 28

16) If you pass the ball directly above the antenna but it lands inside your opponent’s court, do you still get the point?

A

Yes, the ball landed inside my opponent’s side of the court

B

No, if the ball is passed above the area of the antenna it is considered “out of bounds” regardless of where it lands

C

Yes, because the ball did not hit the antenna

Question 17 of 28

17)  If a player passes the ball into the net so that it rolls along the net and hits the antenna, can their partner still continue the play? 

A

No, any contact (ball or player) with the antenna is illegal

B

Yes, it is only illegal to touch the part of the antenna that is above the plane of the net

C

Yes, only if the player does not touch the antenna with their body

Question 18 of 28

18) If a hard driven attack touches the blocker or the net, can the defender still take the ball with their hands/fingers?

A

No, they have to use their platform

B

Yes, only if the defender has to dive for the ball

C

Yes, only if the blocker calls “touch!”

D

Yes, if the finger action was still considered reactionary, meaning that the ball did not slow down enough for the defender to have time to choose a different technique

Question 19 of 28

19) Can a blocker contact a ball that's completely on their opponent’s side of the net before their attack while the attacker is too far away from the ball to make a play (ex: the back of the court)? 

A

No, this interferes with the opponent’s play

B

Only if the set is being blown toward the blocker by the wind

C

Yes. The attacking team is unable to make a play on the ball, so the blocker reaching over the net to put the ball away is not an interference

Question 20 of 28

20) After a joust, if the ball falls to one side of the court does that team have two or three hits left?

A

Two, because the joust touch counted as one touch

B

Three. If there is simultaneous contact between opponents above the net, the receiving team is entitled to three hits

C

You are not allowed to recover a ball after a joust

Question 21 of 28

21)  Can a player serve from outside the sidelines?

A

Yes, only for a jump serve

B

Yes, only for a standing serve

C

Yes, for any type of serve

D

No, the ball must be served from within the service zone (the space between what would be the extensions of the sidelines)

Question 22 of 28

22) Is it legal to serve with your foot?

A

No, a serve must be executed with one hand or arm

B

Yes, a ball can touch any part of the body

C

Yes, only if the server does a flip while kicking the ball

D

Yes, only if the server calls it first

Question 23 of 28

23)  If a player is blocking with their hands above the net, but the ball hits the blocker’s foot, is this still counted as a block touch?

A

No, blocking can only be done with your hands

B

Yes, blocking occurs when any part of the body is above the net while trying to prevent an attack regardless of where on the body the ball contacts you

C

No, you can’t use your feet in beach volleyball

Question 24 of 28

24) Is it legal to block a ball from the 10 foot line?

A

Yes. There is no official distance from the net other than "near the net". For a play to be deemed a block, the player must be attempting to prevent a ball from entering their playing space while having any part of their body above the plane of the net.

B

No, this is the same fault as blocking a serve

C

No, 10 feet away is not close enough to the net to be considered a block

Question 25 of 28

25) How many times can the ball spin before the set is illegal?

A

1.5 rotations

B

There is no written rule regarding the amount of times the ball can spin. Doubles and lifts can only be called on the basis of contact.

C

3 rotations

Question 26 of 28

26) How long can you actually hold the set before it's a carry/lift/throw?

A

There is no written rule about the amount of time the ball can be held, only that the ball cannot come to a rest and catching/throwing the ball is illegal.

B

Half a second

C

One second

Question 27 of 28

27) The player on Team A receives the serve and passes it close to the net so that MOST of the ball is still on his side. Can the blocker for Team B attack/block this ball?

A

The blocker is permitted to play the ball once any part of the ball enters the space directly above the net. They may also pass their hand over the net, as long as the initial contact was made in the plane of the net or their own playing space

B

3/4 of the ball needs to be on B's side of the net for them to attack it legally

C

1/2 of the ball needs to be on B's side of the net for them to attack it legally

Question 28 of 28

28) Player A pursues a wild set from his partner. He manages to spike the ball in bounds but after he hits it, his momentum carries him into the next outside of the antenna. Is this a fault?

A

Yes. A net is a net.

B

Play on! The players are allowed to contact the net outside of the antennas so long as they don't use is as assistance to make a play on the ball.

Confirm and Submit